Building the trellis

Last spring I decided I wanted a garden. I’ve grown plants with my mom many times in years past but I decided last year was the year to go big. As soon as I moved home from college I asked my parents to help me and reluctantly they agreed. I decided what I wanted to plant and drew up plans for the shape of the garden. My parents and I fenced in the space, tilled up the area, built wooden frames for the raised beds, hauled in a bunch of dirt, and started planting. But, as soon as I was bitten by the garden bug I absolutely HAD to have a trellis. I saw so many cute ones on Pinterest and knew that I NEEDED one in my garden. My dad is great at building things (and building them to last) so he made me look around to get real plans and make a trellis that would be sturdy and long lasting. Well, one Saturday my dad and I assembled our trellis in the garage. It was huge and holding together well. We used solid boards, staples, and cattle fence. When we went to stand it up and realized that our trellis is bigger than the two car garage door. With some work we got it out into the yard and up in the garden. Here is a picture of the trellis the day that we installed it! It is about 16′ by 10′. The squares are about  5″ by 5″, which I thought would be too big for the plants but it worked perfect!! If you made it all the way through this post I hope you found some piece of useful/interesting information that you can use! I’ve attached some pictures so you can see how mine looks!

He is the trellis the day we installed it.

20140615_202157

 

Here is the trellis near the middle of the season with the plants totally growing on it.

DSCF2471

And here is the trellis in the fall at the end of the season.

DSCF2663

 

Love,

Cassie

Leave a Reply Please :)